2017-2018 Scholarship Season

2017-2018 Scholarship Season for the National Military Intelligence Association of Ohio

The Application Process Deadline for scholarship applications for the 2017-2018 academic year is 20 March 2017.

Click HERE to download an application for an NMIA-OH Scholarship.

What conditions are there for NMIA Ohio Scholarships and how do I know if I'm eligible?

Purpose The National Military Intelligence Association Ohio Chapter’s scholarship program provides assistance toward education of students interested in advancing their professional skills and education as it relates to Intelligence. Funds awarded may be used to pay or defray the cost of tuition, room, board, and/or laboratory fees and will be payable to the student’s institution.

Scholarship The scholarship(s) awards do not require repayment. The size and number of scholarships depend on the number and quality of qualified applicants in the opinion of the selection board and the amount of funds available to the Ohio Chapter of NMIA. A minimum of one scholarship will be awarded each year. Scholarships awarded to full time students will be greater than scholarships awarded to part time students.

Eligibility This scholarship provides financial assistance to qualified students who are enrolled in and attending an accredited university or community college. In order to qualify for this scholarship, applicants must be an Ohio resident and U.S. citizen.

Students of the Advanced Technical Intelligence Center analysis program or any other accredited certificate program may also be eligible provided the applicant demonstrates as part of the application a direct correlation of the program to a career in intelligence. To be certain of a program’s eligibility, inquire via email to the Program Director Mr Dale Rude.

Applicants must not be relatives of NMIA or scholarship committee members. Applicants must provide evidence of satisfactory scholastic advancement.

Selection Selection of scholarship recipients will be made by the Scholarship Committee of the National Military Intelligence Association Ohio Chapter. STEM students will be given priority, but non-STEM students will be considered. The decision of the Scholarship Committee is final and is not subject to external review.

Deadline Deadline for scholarship applications for the 2017-2018 academic year is 20 March 2017. Applications postmarked or submitted electronically after this date will not be considered by the Scholarship Committee. Scholarship recipients will be announced in April, 2017 for the 2017-2018 school year and are automatically enrolled as NMIA-OH members.

If you have questions about the process, please contact our Director of Academics: Mr Dale Rude or one of his deputy directors: Mr Matt Hardacre or Mr Jerome Murray.

Who is NMIA-OH and why is it giving out scholarships?

A Proud Heritage Our Mission is to enhance the professionalism and sense of cohesiveness among military intelligence professionals and associated industry partners, and to increase public understanding of the value of military intelligence.

We support conferences, symposium, meetings, and other exchanges of information among members; provide publications and electronic communications to inform members on issues of mutual interest; and support public recognition of military intelligence professionals and organizations through awards programs.

The National Military Intelligence Association (NMIA) was established in 1974, as an Army professional association. It evolved quickly into an organization to provide a professional forum for intelligence professionals in all the military Services, intelligence agencies, offices of the United States Government, Congress, industry, and academia to share ideas for their individual professional enhancement and the good of the Intelligence Community.

NMIA has been, for many years, the sole joint military intelligence professional association exclusively focused on the US armed forces and the various intelligence agencies. Professional development and collaboration among people who produce and support military intelligence is vital. Accordingly, future success depends on the helping hand by seasoned professionals in the Intelligence Community reaching out to encourage and enable the next generation of intelligence professionals to focus their energy and realize their ambitions. Our scholarship program resides at the heart of this matter.

Scholarship Donations The Ohio Chapter of the National Military Intelligence Association is proud to offer this scholarship opportunity. Scholarships of up to $2,000 are typically awarded to deserving individuals.

This is only possible through the generous donations by sponsors like these:

SRC Incorporated, an independent, not-for-profit, research and development corporation chartered by the state of New York. SRC provides innovative solutions to the most challenging critical needs to help keep America and its Allies safe and strong by protecting our people, the environment and our way of life. As a not-for-profit research and development company, it strives to find unique, creative solutions for its customers' challenges, ...[and] "committed to redefining possible®." Click here for more information about SRC.

• And Wright State Research Institute, providing innovative, customer-focused research solutions in the human and health sciences, by leveraging its university affiliation and community partnerships to facilitate technology development, job creation, and the economic revitalization of the region and state. Click for more information about Wright State Research Institute. Click here for more information about Wright State Research Institute.


If you, your company, or your organization would like to contribute directly to the NMIA-OH 2016 Scholarship Fund, please contact our Director of Academics: Mr Dale Rude or one of his deputy directors: Mr Matt Hardacre or Mr Jerome Murray.

Our 2015 Winners

WSU Logo

Marcus J. Bracey (Lt Schulte Award)
Wright State University

UD Logo

Rhine Moreland
University of Dayton


Katelyn M. Murwin

Thomas R. Ziebro

Stephen Moon